May 28, 2015

Mason Core Committee

Mason Core Committee Members 2017-2018

Co-chairBethany M. UsherAssociate Provost, Undergraduate
College of Education and Human DevelopmentDominique BanvilleRecreation, Health and
College of Health and Human ServicesAli WeinsteinGlobal and Community
College of Humanities and Social SciencesMelissa Broeckelman-Post

Kelly Dunne

Garry Sparks*

Chris DiTeresi**
Communication; Co-chair

School of Integrative Studies

Religious Studies

College of ScienceRebecca Ericson

Jason Kinser (Provost Appointee)
Physics and Astronomy

Computational and Data Sciences
College of Visual and Performing ArtsPeter Winant (Provost Appointee)School of
Schar School of Policy and GovernmentMatthew
School of Business Cheryl Druehl (Provost Appointee)
School of Conflict Analysis and ResolutionMara
Volgenau School of EngineeringTamara MaddoxComputer
Ex Officios Shelley Reid

Stephanie Foster

Krista Shires
Stearns Center for Teaching and Learning

Undergraduate Education

Undergraduate Education

*On Research Leave

** Faculty Senate approved substitute appointee

Mason Core Sub-comittees 

The Mason Core Sub-committee members are available to answer questions related to proposal creation and submission. Contact information is listed above.

Quantitative Reasoning, IT, & Natural Sciences: Rebecca Ericson, Tamara Maddox, Ali Weinstein, Cheryl Druehl, Jason Kinser

Arts & Literature: Peter Winant, Garry Sparks, Shelley Reid, Kelly Dunne

Social & Behavioral Sciences, Global Understanding, & History: Melissa Broeckelman-Post, Dominique Banville, Matthew Scherer, Mara Schoeny, Stephanie Foster

Synthesis: All

Mason Core Committee

(Charge as revised and approved by the Faculty Senate – April 1, 2009, composition of membership amended September 7, 2011. Revisions including new name: Mason Core Committee approved by the Faculty Senate Dec. 4, 2013)

Composition: The membership of the Committee comprises 14 voting members:
A. Eight elected from the Faculty Senate for staggered three year terms ensuring that most academic units are represented, one at least should be a senator;
B. Four faculty appointed by the Provost;
C. The Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education; and
D. A representative from the Center for Teaching and Faculty Excellence (ex-officio);
E. A representative from the Office of Institutional Assessment (ex-officio); and
F. One student elected by the Student Senate.


A. The Committee will work in cooperation with the Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education on all matters concerning the Mason Core (formerly general education).
B. For all foundation, core, and –synthesis and/or capstone experience Mason Core requirements, the Committee will approve courses to fulfill these requirements. The Committee will develop procedures for the measurement of “satisfactory skills in oral and written presentations” for the synthesis and/or capstone experience requirement, and work with the Office of the Provost to develop procedures for the demonstration of these skills.
C. The Committee will approve and monitor, through periodic review, the proficiency examinations related to the Mason Core requirements, the competency tests, and any other alternatives proposed to fulfill the requirements.
D. The Committee will maintain a file of all proficiency examinations and will approve policies related to their administration.
E. The Committee will confer with the Faculty Senate Committee on Academic Policies when changes to Mason Core requirements impact the entire university and/or would be a change to the university catalog.
F. The Committee will provide an annual report to the Faculty Senate. The report shall include:

a) The number of students taking and passing proficiency examinations; and

b) Changes in the criteria for the Mason Core;
More frequent reports to the Faculty Senate might take place as adjustments to the Mason Core program may warrant.   

Please contact the Program Specialist for Undergraduate Education at 703-993-5941 or with any questions or concerns.